Reboot Kerala 2020
conducted successfully

Reboot Kerala Hackathon 2020 (RKH 2020), is an initiative of the Department of Higher Education - Government of Kerala organized by the Additional Skill Acquisition Program (ASAP) to provide students of Higher Education Institutions of the State an opportunity to find innovative solutions to some of the pressing problems faced by various Government Departments.

Hon’ble Minister for Higher Education Dr. K.T. Jaleel inaugurated Reboot Kerala Hackathon 2020 (RKH 2020) on 13th February 2020 at Lal Bahadur Shastri Institute of Technology for Women (LBSITW), Thiruvananthapuram. Dr. Usha Titus IAS, Principal Secretary, Higher Education presided over the event. Dr. Abdul Rahman, Principal, LBSITW, Shri. Abdul Jabbar Ahammed, Hackathon Organising Secretary and ASAP officials apart from student contestants witnessed the event.

It is planned to organize a total of 22 hackathons across the State in two phases with each hackathon lasting for 36 hours without break. The first phase of RKH 2020 will have 10 hackathons conducted at various districts across the State. Thirty teams have been selected for each regional hackathons from the online hackathons. The contesting teams choose one of the six problems offered to them to develop technical solutions to be evaluated by a panel of experts. This is an opportunity for the students of Kerala to actively contribute to a social cause.

The first hackathon of the series started off at Lal Bahadur Shastri Institute of Technology for Women (LBSITW), Thiruvananthapuram on the theme Home Affairs and Tourism on 14th, 15th and 16th of February 2020. Dr. Usha Titus IAS, Principal Secretary, Higher Education delivered the inaugural address and Dr. Veena N Madhavan IAS, CEO, ASAP, presided over the inaugural ceremony. Hon’ble Chief Minister of Kerala, Shri. Pinarayi Vijayan inaugurated the closing ceremony of RKH 2020- Thiruvananthapuram on 16th February 2020 and handed over the prizes to the winners.

The details of the ten hackathons in the first phase of Reboot Kerala Hackathon series is as follows:

No: District Dates Department (Theme)

1) Thiruvananthapuram : February 14, 15, 16 Home Affairs, Tourism

2) Malappuram : February 21, 22, 23 Education

3) Kozhikode : February 21, 22, 23 Transport

4) Alappuzha : February 28, 29, March 1 Food

5) Thrissur : February 28, 29, March 1 Agriculture

6) Palakkad : February 28, 29, March 1 Water, Environment

7) Ernakulam : March 6,7,8 Healthcare, Social Justice

8) Kasaragod : March 6,7,8 Revenue, Disaster Management

*Hackathons scheduled to be conducted on March 13, 14, 15 at Thrissur and Idukki are postponed